About Us

LIUNA – the Laborers’ International Union of North America – represents workers who are proud to build Michigan. We are united through collective bargaining agreements to get better pay, more work and greater opportunities for our unionized workforce.

The Michigan Laborers District Council is the statewide entity which oversees our seven Local Unions. It’s primary responsibilities include:

  • serving as parent body on various union funds
  • coordinating efforts among the local unions
  • contract negotiations
  • interfacing with our Regional and International Union

LIUNA members are a skilled and experienced union workforce trained to work safely in the construction and energy industries. Members build infrastructure - from roads, bridges, and transit to schools and skyscrapers. They are certified to install rainwater catchment systems and trained to build water and sewer systems. Members also work in every area of the energy sector, helping to build solar plants, wind farms, and natural gas and oil pipelines, as well as, being skilled in the maintenance of nuclear and coal power plant facilities.

LIUNA also represents public employees in health care, sanitation, road maintenance and emergency response. The National Postal Mail Handlers Union (NPMHU), which represents Mail Handlers employed by the United States Postal Service, is also affiliated with LIUNA.


Geno Alessandrini, Sr.

Michigan Laborers District Council Business Manager


Alex Zurek

Michigan Laborers District Council Secretary-Treasurer


Jacob Hilliker

Collections Coordinator


Chris Chwalek

Great Lakes Region Organizing Committee (GROC) Director


Daryl Gallant

Laborers' Training of Michigan Director


Jeff Smrz

Laborers' Training of Michigan Assistant Director


Scott McDonald

Laborers' Training of Michigan Apprenticeship Director

RichardTurnerHeadshot-e1662574983573-1024x1024 (1)_WP

Richard Turner

Laborers' Employers’ Cooperation & Education Trust (LECET) Director


Paul Zurek

Laborers’-Employers’ Cooperation & Education Trust (LECET) Services, Media, and Special Projects Rep.


Katie Barglind

Laborers’-Employers’ Cooperation & Education Trust (LECET) Market Share and Communications Rep.


Robert Joerg

Michigan Laborers District Council
Director of Advocacy

Marcus Trammell

Research Director

Lynda Schnepp

Michigan Laborers District Council Office Manager

District Council

Business Manager: Geno Alessandrini

Secretary Treasurer: Alex Zurek

Website: www.Mi-Laborers.org

Address: 1118 Centennial Way, Suite 100 Lansing, MI 48917

Phone: (517) 321-2349

Fax: (517) 321-3266

Jurisdiction: Statewide

Michigan Laborers Benefit Fund

 Administrator TIC

Website: www.MichiganLaborers.org

Address: 6525 Centurion Dr. Lansing, MI  48917

Phone: (877) 645-2267

Fax: (517) 321-7508

Local 355

Business Manager: Arlandar Washington

Secretary Treasurer: Scott Brown

Website: www.Local355.org

Address: 1500 E. Columbia Ave. Battle Creek, MI 49014

Phone: (269) 962-8010

Fax: (269) 962-1431

Jurisdiction: Allegan, Barry, Berrien, Branch, Calhoun, Cass, Ionia (excluding the City of Portland), Kalamazoo, Kent, Lake, Manistee, Mason, Mecosta, Montcalm, Muskegon, Newaygo, Oceana, Osceola, Ottawa, St. Joseph, and Van Buren Counties

Local 499

Business Manager: Dan Minton

Secretary Treasurer: Mike Hayter

Address: 3080 Platt Rd. Ann Arbor, MI 48108

Phone: (734) 971-5212

Fax: (734) 971-0094

Jurisdiction: Clinton, Eaton, Hillsdale, Ingham, Jackson, Lenawee, Livingston, Monroe, and Washtenaw Counties

Local 1075

Business Manager: Joel Archibald

Secretary Treasurer: Dave Willert

Website: www.LiunaLocal1075.org

Address: 7024 N Dort Hwy. Mount Morris, MI 48458

Phone: (810) 686-8381

Fax: (810) 686-1906

Jurisdiction: Genesee, Lapeer, Sanilac, Shiawassee, and St. Clair Counties

Local 1075

Business Manager: Joel Archibald

Secretary Treasurer: Dave Willert

Website: www.LiunaLocal1075.org

Address: 7024 N Dort Hwy. Mount Morris, MI 48458

Phone: (810) 686-8381

Fax: (810) 686-1906

Jurisdiction: Genesee, Lapeer, Sanilac, Shiawassee, and St. Clair Counties

Local 1076

Business Manager: Bill Bass

Secretary Treasurer: Paul Gassel

Website: www.ConstructionLaborers1076.org

Address: 760 Joslyn Ave. Pontiac, MI 48340

Phone: (248) 334-0509

Fax: (248) 334-0584

Jurisdiction: Oakland County, and the Northeast portion of Livingston County bordered by M-151 (Oak Grove Road) on the West and M-59 on the South

Local 1098

Business Manager/Secretary Treasurer: Brent Pilarski

Website: www.Local1098.org

Address: 345 E. Morley Dr. Saginaw, MI 48601

Phone: (989) 752-6146

Fax: (248) 334-0584

Jurisdiction: Alcona, Alpena, Arenac, Antrim, Bay, Benzie, Charlevoix, Cheboygan, Clare, Crawford, Emmet, Gladwin, Grand Traverse, Gratiot, Huron, Iosco, Isabella, Kalkaska, Leelanau, Midland, Missaukee, Montmorency, Ogemaw, Oscoda, Otsego, Presque Isle, Roscommon, Saginaw, Tuscola, and Wexford Counties

Local 1191

Business Manager: Mike Aaron

Secretary Treasurer: Jesus Pena, Jr.

Website: www.LaborersLocal1191.org

Address: 2161 West Grand Blvd. Detroit, MI 48208

Phone: (313) 894-2241

Fax: (313) 894-6250

Jurisdiction: Wayne and Macomb Counties

Local 1329

Business Manager: Geno Alessandrini Jr.

Secretary Treasurer: Anthony Alessandrini

Website: www.LiunaLocal1329.org

Address: 1800 N. Stephenson Ave. Iron Mountain, MI 49801

Phone: (906) 774-6070

Fax(906) 774-1199

Jurisdiction: Alger, Baraga, Chippewa, Delta, Dickinson, Gogebic, Houghton, Iron, Keweenaw, Luce, Mackinac, Marquette, Menominee, Ontonagon, and Schoolcraft County; Florence County and the and City of Marinette Wisconsin

Looking for your local contact information?

Find your local contact information on the members page.